Web 2.0

It’s official. I have jumped on the bandwagon. However, I come to realize that this bandwagon is a must because it is truly the future. I was holding out for the longest as I could; a blog, a RSS feed, a Myspace account, Flickr, YouTube, last.fm, del.icio.us, Facebook (hahaha, yeah right). Just as Alan November debunked my reservations against blogs, I came across reasons myself to embrace Web 2.0.

Alright, as much as I am for old school, I know that I am technologically competent compared to adult users. However, as adults realize the importance of technology and try to move forward in the fast pace innovative world; I was becoming backwards by not taking on Web 2.0.

What is Web 2.0 you may ask. According to Wikipedia,

Web 2.0, a phrase coined by O’Reilly Media in 2004, refers to a supposed second generation of Internet-based services—such as social networking sites, wikis, communication tools, and folksonomies—that emphasize online collaboration and sharing among users. “

Personally, the best way to describe it is the sharing of information among others. We are the web. The Internet belongs to all; the information super highway has tranformed.

Kids today complain how their parents or grandparents are so backwards from “today’s world”. That being said, I already feel left behind by not joining this information revolution sooner; and to think, I’m only 22! So come on, let’s share to world what we all know!

And now for the disclaimer…

As before, as we share to the world the power of information that we possess, one must always be weary of the dangers of the web. Molesters, spammers, phishing, etc. are all over the Internet and we all must protect ourselves from them. Be cautious and be smart. Learn who you give your information to and where you get your source from. Otherwise, happy surfing!

One thought on “Web 2.0

  1. Pingback: re: Web 2.0 « .:: PhamPants

Leave a Reply

