Harry Potter: The Spoiler Study, pt. 2

Before I continue on with “Harry Potter, The Spoiler Study“, I would like to once again extend my apologizes to J.K. Rowling, Scholastic, Bloomsbury, Harry Potter fans, and to all social scientists. Unfortunately, my sociology is a bit rusty and my psychology knowledge is weak (I did not study Psych in college), so please bare with me. Also, if I’m jumping all over the place, I’m sorry; I am extremely excited about this and thus, I was unable to sleep last night. Hopefully, I will have an opportunity to better assemble and organize this in the future.

* * * * * *

I ended HPSS1 last night by saying:

So yes, now I am “famous” on the Internet thanks to that blog post. Wasn’t that my goal? Am I not like the others who desire to be an “Internet Celebrity”? Yes and no.

To better answer that question, I would like to state an unfortunate bias that does effect this study. (Please note there are other biases and issues of question that I will later address in this study). Seeing that I am human, there is a slight desire in myself to be an “Internet celebrity”. Therefore, this does take away some of my objectivity; however, I will state that upon initializing this study, I did not have any desire to be famous through blogging. (Personally, I rather be known through YouTube). Hence, I choose a media outlet that I am least bias towards to make it more valid.

Going back to the question, the fact that through the HP spoiler post, my blog reached unprecedented readership in a short period of time, which marks the instant fame. This similarly reflects the two YouTube accounts that I mentioned in my first post, CrazzzyVids and InternetJoker (whose account has been recently suspended). Once you have the audience, it is now up to you, the user, do decide what to do; hence the “yes” and “no” answer.

One way of using the instant fame is to advertise and/or make money. This has become a growing problem and is often abused in Web2.0. On YouTube, hundreds of accounts are created daily for the purpose of advertising other websites. Take AlexFir3, a supposed musician, whose videos contain no music but instead pointless and random content advertising http://www.katrix.com.br. Though AlexFir3 does not have many subscribers, the views per video are substantial to appear in the Most Viewed section of YouTube for July 19th. There are exceptions such as Nalts, who is known on the YouTube community for his comedic videos, having the tag line “Will video for food“. Unlike fake users such as AlexFir3, Nalts is an integrated part of the YouTube community while using YouTube as a side project to make money.

The same goes for other Web2.0 sites, where fake accounts are created to advertise. MySpace is notorious having fake female accounts, using sex and the hormones of teenage boys, to advertise. Often times, many of these instant internet celebrity advertisers are quickly shut down. However, they keep on coming back due to the ability to create free accounts. All they need to do is just resort to these quick tactics and within hours, they are back in full force.

Not all instant internet celebrities are in for the money. Many people are pushed into the spotlight by some random thing that they posted and use it for other means. For instance, TheHill88 was pushed onto the YouTube scene by her video response titled, “Re: LonelyGirl: Lazydork is Better Than You“. After being featured on the front page of YouTube and becoming a YT celebrity, she used her fame to promote the end of the atrocities in Darfur and stop global warming. Another YouTube celebrity who burst onto the scene was DaxFlame, whose video, “Video diary entry 32: TAPE FACE!“, was featured. Now he uses his video blog to entertain thousands of subscribers; not bad for a teenager.

TheHill88 and DaxFlame may have become instant celebrities thanks to being featured on YouTube, not all celebrities have that luck. Remibroadway, slowly came onto the scene by creating an online series (webisode) called Choose Your Own Tube. Through collaboration with his brother and friends, they created this series which began to gain a strong following. However, not all people desire fame. Some are put into the spotlight and chooses to let it pass them by. Recyclism was featured but choose to remain as a simple YouTube user. What makes a person decide to seek fame versus staying unknown?

* * * * * *

As I was writing more tonight, I realized that I was digressing. I was hoping to start on the sociology aspect of this study soon, but I’m still on the media studies side. There’s so much to absorb. I also realize that more data is coming in thanks to Sky Windows which now I have to keep in mind. Any insight would be greatly appreciated.

UPDATE 7/25:

2 thoughts on “Harry Potter: The Spoiler Study, pt. 2

  1. You are far too kind and generous to me.
    Sure, the whole thing was accidental – thank you so much for realizing this and not being the 5 millionth person to think that I really did log in to youtube on the quest for e-fame (I was a friggin fan on lonelygirl!!! That’s all!) However, I really have done little towards the ending of genocide in Darfur and little for global warming.
    I do want to do more, but I am only one person and personal goals get in the way.
    One person I know who did a huge amount for Darfur was boh3m3, he held a near-24hour chat raising awareness of the issues and made it an important topic on YouTube. He deserves the credit here, I just supported him and donated money and helped The Darfur Wall get noticed a bit more…that’s all.
    But thank you…best of luck 😀

Leave a Reply

