New Beginnings

After dinner, I decided to take a break and go to the rocks on the lake by Loyola. The new job has been driving me up a wall. It’s only been a week, but I’ve concluded that in a month’s time, I’m going to be a smoker and an alcoholic. It was 7:30 and I was still working while trying to digest a burrito from Chipotle. I strolled onto the lakefront path, my mind was still processing all that I need to do for work. As I broke the bend on Sheridan Rd by the Sullivan Center, I dropped everything.

The lake was calm tonight, with only small and disperse waves gently crashing onto the rocks. I climbed over the railing and onto the rocks to sit and look upon the serene lake. The sun was still setting, for it painted a light pink over the sky and on the surface of the water. From the horizon, the blue night slow crept in from the east, but the pink and clear blue danced for me as I sat there.

The last time I was here, Panda accompanied me as we reflected the end of the school year. Tonight, I’m here again as I begin something new. It’s been a year and a day since I moved to Chicago and once again I’m starting over. New beginnings are nice. Sometimes it’s harder than you wish, other times you wish it was like the old. Either way, new beginnings allow you to redefine and re-establish yourself. A fresh start and a new adventure.

More people will be in Chicago this year, which I am very excited. In addition, the new people I’m meeting are making weekends more interesting. And then there’s school; as much as I want that promotion, I also want 1-to-1 to be a success. The new school year start in a few weeks, but the new adventure already started.

07-30-07_1955.jpg

Leave a Reply

