Things I’m Most Afraid of, No. 4

#4 – Becoming like my parents.

I’m terrified that I will become an Asian parent. Sadly, all the jokes and references to Asian parents are true. The bamboo stick, the perfect grades, the arts, the strictness, and the rice; all so true.

The reason why I don’t want to become like my parents is because I don’t want my children to suffer and be abused as I did. I want my children to live a normal life. I want them to be happy and not have the pressure of an Asian lifestyle. I don’t want them to live in an authoritarian but an authoritative household. I want them to have friends, go outside and play, be active in sports/clubs. I want them to have a father who speaks and pays attention to you instead of being starved for attention. I want them to have a mother who loves them and not scolds them. I want them to be children and not live in the eyes of their parents.

I have a cat and he’s like my child (except furrier).  Yes, I know I could play with my cat more. I know my work has prohibited me from being a better pet (according to the animals, we’re their pets) . I promise I will do better Quigley. I won’t be like my parents. I will be a good pet [owner].

One thought on “Things I’m Most Afraid of, No. 4

  1. Pingback: Things I’m Most Afraid of, Recap « .:: PhamPants

Leave a Reply

