Green is In

Flappers were in style in the 20s. Polyester was in fashion in the 60s. Fashion did not exist in the 80s. Prep was the “in” of the 90s. Green is in style now.

For the last 2 years, people (celebrities in particular) find that it’s cool to think “green” and save the environment. I’m sorry but I’m sick of it. Honestly, how many people are truly “green”? Most people are doing it because it’s the thing to do versus actually caring about the environment. Stop jumping on the green-wagon when you don’t truly care or have any idea of what you’re doing! Yes, everyone should care about the environment and do more to help protect it. But please don’t do it because it’s cool.

I know I should do more to better protect our planet, but I’m not trying to be green because celebrities tell me to. I’m green because I truly care. I prefer biking than driving. I would bike to work everyday like I use to if 1. I had a safe bike route to my new school and 2. if I didn’t have to carry a $2K laptop w/ me each day. On weekends, I bike or take public transportation and only drive when necessary. I want to recycle but I don’t because there is no recycling in my building or facility near me. I keep my apartment cool in the winter to prevent tendencies to open a window when it’s hot; it’s easier to put on more layers. I use energy efficient bulbs and turn off the light when I don’t need it. I know I should turn my PC off at night and when I’m at work, but it’s hard saying no to instant information. Overall, I do my best and I do it because I believe in global warming and protecting the earth, not because someone tells me.

All of us need to do our part. However, please do it because you want to, not because some celebrity.

One thought on “Green is In

  1. Pingback: re: Green is In « .:: PhamPants

Leave a Reply

