Swimming w/ Nemo, pt. 3

continued here…

There I was, rotating in the great Australian sea as I unsuccessfully try to swim further down to the corals.  At this point, I wasn’t panicking.  I was having to much fun.  WHEEEEEEEEE!  Okay, but in all seriousness, it was kinda cool floating around and being pretty much weightless.

Anyways, I wasn’t too worried (mostly because I was having too much fun) and surely enough, the instructor swam back to get me.  I think at one point she was looking at me weird trying to figure out how I got myself into such a free spin; either that or she was checking me out (I could be hopeful).

As she set me back to right side up, she held my hand and help guided me to another set of corals.  That was when she realized she wasn’t moving.  She turned around, looking puzzled I’m sure, as she stared at me.  Trust me, I was doing my best in my attempts to swim and dive down, but sure if you could have only saw me.

Being that 1. I don’t know how to swim and 2. this is my first time scuba diving, having fins made my iknowhowtoswimbutnotreallysoi’mgoingtofakeitanyways very difficult.  So difficult that when the instructor turned back and wondered why she wasn’t moving, she saw me trying to frog kick.  Honestly, what was I thinking?  She motioned her hands to me showing how I should kick my legs.  I acknowledge in return by doing what she asked of me.

We still didn’t move.

She finally half push, half dragged me along to the floor of the corals where MOzzie & Mordini was.  (So much for being weightless).  When I rejoined everyone, the instructor pointed a few things out to us and allowed us to explore the corals.

I’ll tell you this right now, the corals of the Great Barrier Reef are beautiful!  Now it’s not bright and colorful as often depicted in cartoons, but it’s sure is pretty.

During our ride out, the crew kept on warning us that we need to be careful where we swim because we don’t want to destroy the corals; we must protect them.  That being said, I was grossly paranoid that when I tried to swim (haha) around, I would accidentally break off some coral growth.  Needless to say, I didn’t do much swimming around because I could not coordinate myself well enough.  I was so uncoordinated that now I was stuck at the bottom of the sea, sitting on top of the coral!

Okay, don’t panic, now just use your arms to push up and kick upward to the surface.

NO WAIT!  Don’t kick too hard or fast because I could hurt the coral.

SHOOT!  I’m sinking again.

Maybe if I…is that fish laughing at me?

Once again, when we were about move on, the instruct came to my rescue and helped me out from under the sea (darling it’s better, down where it’s wetter, take it from me!).   She brought me up half way and left me there just hanging around.  I must have had a brain fart because next thing I realized, she was gone and so were Mordini and MOzzie.

Ladies & gentlemen, please have your seat in the upright position and PANIC!

I looked up. I looked down. I looked left.  I looked right.  Hell I even spun myself around and got myself to stop spinning.  NO ONE WAS IN SIGHT!  Once again, I was lost and alone in the ocean.  My heart was racing and I felt it pound against my chest as the water pressure further increase my heart rate.

It was then when I gather my composure and said to myself,

“John breathe.  Wait!  Don’t just breathe.  Breathe with your mouth.  Inhale and exhale.”

And I felt the delicious cool air in my lungs.

“John, don’t relax to much, you can’t break the seal on the oxygen mask.”

Oh crap, and my heart rate started to rise up again.

“Just relax and breathe through your mouth John.”

Calming down again but I felt a pain in my mouth.

“Dude, you don’t have to bite on the mouth piece.  Seriously, my jaw is starting to hurt.”

Just moments later, I heard the sound of air inflating and I shot up to the surface of the water.  Next to me was the instructor with MOzzie & Mordini.  Apparently, our dive time was over.  And to think, I was just getting the hang of it.

As we swam to the boat, which I was able to do…kinda, I couldn’t believe myself that I 1. scuba dived, 2. saw the corals of the GBR, 3. touched the corals and 4. am still alive! Exhausted but relieved, I climbed back onto the boat only to slightly fall backwards as I remembered how heavy the oxygen tank was.  Next up, snorkeling!

gbrthe greenish areas are the corals of the Great Barrier Reef

to be continued…

4 thoughts on “Swimming w/ Nemo, pt. 3

  1. Pingback: Swimming w/ Nemo, pt. 2 « .:: PhamPants ::.

  2. Pingback: Swimming w/ Nemo, pt. 4 « .:: PhamPants ::.

  3. Pingback: Favorite 2008 Blog Posts « .:: PhamPants ::.

Leave a Reply

