When I Grow Up…

Classy in Philly wrote about what she wanted to be when she grew up and I couldn’t help but wonder what I wanted to be when I grow up (because I’m sure hell not growing up anytime soon).

Being a Doctor was the first real dream I had as a little lad.  I was in 3rd grade at the time.  I had an Asian teacher (gasp!) and he basically said that one could only be successful if they’re a doctor.  Not sure what he was saying about himself, but he got the whole class focused on working hard and becoming smarter so we can all be doctors when we grow up.

Becoming a teacher was an on/off dream of mine.  I had a lot of great teachers throughout the years.  They all inspired me to become a great person.  Their dedication and spirit made me want to become a teacher.  Sure enough, I can honestly say that I did fulfill this dream.  I taught high school for two years.  As long and hard as those two years were, being a teacher is wonderful and rewards you 100x over.  I really do miss teaching.  I know I was not the best teacher in the world, but I know that I at least made a difference to those whom I taught.

Working with computers early on in high school made me realize that I had a niche for this field.  Who knew that spending so much time on the computer would make me good at fixing them?  It’s been 9 years and I’m still in the field of information technology (I did computer work while I taught high school).  From intern, to tech, to asst. net admin, to director and now a field tech; I’ve done it all.  I know I’m not the best, but I do try my best.  Besides, I’m very user friendly.

Making a difference and being the change in the world has been a dream of mine since day one.  Call me stupid. Call me cliché.  However, I find that without helping others and working for something greater than yourself, there’s just not much meaning in life.  So, I’m not a superhero.  I’m not a scientist.  I’m not a social worker.  I’m not a mentor. I’m just me.  I have a smile and I can be that friend when in need.  I’m only one person, but I hope to make a difference and be the change to each person I meet in my lifetime.

6 thoughts on “When I Grow Up…

  1. I didn’t have a male teacher till I got to Middle School (so year 5 or 5th Grade – I would think(I was 9 going on 10). I don’t think it was “cool” for guys to be primary school teachers.

Leave a Reply

