Your Song

Ever hear a song on the radio, on your iPod, in a coffee shop or at a party that makes you immediately think of a specific person?  And no, I’m not referring to a person’s “theme song” or a song that “reminds” you of someone because of the tune or lyrics.  I’m talking about a song that no matter what the mood, location or situation, you will think of that person without fail.

Many couples name a specific song as “their song” because something special happened between them when it played.  This is what I’m referring to; you were spending time with a friend and a particular song plays.  From that moment on, that song will become “your song” and whenever it plays again, you’ll always think of that friend.

So to my friends, this is “your song”:

Billy – “Crash” by Dave Matthews Band. You said that you must always listen to this song at least once a day.  Seeing how your room was quite the hangout place freshman year and you lived across the hall from me sophomore year, I’m fairly certain that this song was played more than once a day.

Bruce – “Loro” by Pinback. You had it looping on your Facebook page towards the end of a long, difficult and sad school year.  The song soothed away the sorrow and pain of the closing.

Cassie – “Starbucks” by A. We were sharing music one afternoon.  I gave you some Kill Hannah and you gave me this song.

Charlotte & Roommate – “The Painter” by I’m from Barcelona. I pseudo date this girl once.  I introduced her to my new favorite band at the time. She listened to the lyrics and said it reminded her of her struggling painter roommate.  I don’t know where she is now, but I’m stuck thinking about her and her roommate. Damn

Christine – “MMMBop” by Hanson. That was the meanest prank anyone has ever pulled on me.

“The Distance” by Evan & Jaron. Two best friends, who were far apart, were united through a song.

“Everywhere” by Michelle Branch. What? You were all about Michelle Branch.

Clara – “In the End” by Linkin Park. You put this on our Wheatie Love mix.  I haven’t listened to them since high school.  Oh the memories.

Erica – “Begin” by Ben Lee, “Let Love In” by Goo Goo Dolls, “Since I Met You” by Ben Lee, “Better Together” by Jack Johnson, “Set the Fire to the Third Bar” by Snow Patrol, “Oh” by Dave Matthews, “Everything” by Michael Buble, “You’re All I Have” by Snow Patrol, “Brighter than Sunshine” by Aqualong, “In Other Words” by Ben Kweller, “You Are My Joy” by Reindeer Selection, “Chicago (Acoustic)” by Mat Kearney, “Steady As We Go” by Dave Matthews Band, “The Best is Yet to Come” by Michael Buble You gave me this CD mix for Christmas 2007. It has been playing in my car and on my iPod for over a year.   I listened to it a lot when we were apart.

“The Night Starts Here” by Stars. It just happened to be the first song that played in my car as we went to Formal de Fever together; it was also our first date.

“Peace & Hate” by The Submarines. Can you say “I ❤ Threadless”?

Fever House – “American Pie” by Don McLean. Bye-bye Miss American Pie.  Drove my Chevy to the levee, but the levee was dry.  And them good old boys drinking whiskey and BEER!  And singing, “This’ll be the day that I die.”  HELL NO!  “This will be the day that I die.”  DRINKING BEER WITH MY FEVER FRIENDS!

Gorz – “Believer” by Kill Hannah. You ripped me a copy of KH new album since mine was lost somewhere in the mail.  All I have to say that I’m glad “Lips Like Morphine” is not the song that makes me think of you.

Greg Fox – “Brand New Cadillac” by the Clash. Who would have known that you repeating the words “brain damage” would cause over a whole auditorium to break out in laughter?

Jackie – “Follow Through” by Gavin DeGraw. You posted this song on your blog.  I don’t recall what I was going through at that moment in time.  What I do know is that this song helped me follow through.

Kara – “You and Me” by Lifehouse. We weren’t dating at that point, but we went to the Lifehouse concert together at the Canopy Club.  This song was played during the encore. You were standing in front of me but leaning back against me.  It was then I knew I had a chance.

Katharine – “On the Radio” by Regina Spektor. It was the night of the Iron & Wine concert.  We were driving back home and Regina was playing on my iPod.  You started to sing and I filmed you.

Katie – “Her Morning Elegance” by Oren Lavie. I love this song.  However, you have an unhealthy addiction to it.

Laurel – “Sadie Hawkins Dance” by Relient K. You put this song on the Wheatie Mix.  It was because of this song I was introduced to Relient K.

Mark – “The Beautiful Letdown” by Switchfoot. Once you heard of Switchfoot, you kept on playing them when I was around.  I’m just glad the song is not “Dare You to Move”.

Matt & Anna – “The Scientist” by Coldplay. This was your first dance at your wedding reception.  As crazy as your wedding was, that dance marked when everything finally went right and the beginning of a beautiful marriage.

MOswald & Mordini – “Receive the Power” by Guy + Paulini.  “Technocordion” by Scythian. Australia was the best time I ever had aboard.  The time we spent together in Sydney for World Youth Day and the week after were beyond belief.  It’s a trip that I can never forget.

NFK83 Wheaties – “Beautiful Soup” of the Alice in Wonderland soundtrack. It was such a shame that our soup was burnt.  It would have been so beautiful.

Nick, Tiny, Radek & Alex – “The Rock Show” by Blink182. The fact that my students wrote a song and included me in it still blows me away.

Sam – “The Hand Song” by Nickel Creek. You knew of my struggles freshmen year of college.  You gave me this song before we left for summer break.

Wayne – “The Soldiering Life” by the Decemberists. Of all the Decemberists songs, I still don’t know why this song makes me think of you.  You played them all the time at Fever.  It was your favorite band.  It’s one of my favorite bands now.

8 thoughts on “Your Song

  1. of funny.
    Oh man, I haven’t even heard “The Distance” in forever! I’ll have to go look that up.
    And yep, I was all about Michelle Branch. Not as much now, but I still did “Everywhere” at the Deerfield Fair last year for Karaoke. Video evidence and all.

  2. Mark even saw Switchfoot in concert. Pham, I have to say i have not listened to that song in a while, but believe me I certainly will tonight when i get home!

Leave a Reply

