Liquidated Damages – Pleasures of the Other

liquidated-damagesBeing dumped by my true love early on during the catastrophic global recession of the third millennia caused me to wander in the urban abyss in search of myself.  Though the complete effects and damages of the global economy does not hit until 2012, I started to see and visualize them shortly after I began my walk about in the failing world.

“A world of fear and treachery and torment, a world of trampling and being trampled upon, a world which will grow not less but more merciless as it refines itself. Progress in our world will be progress toward more pain.”

1984 by George Orwell

Orwell saw the future and I am standing in it.  The abandon cul-de-sacs of suburbia allude to images of once lively communities, but now are nothing more than deteriorating ghost towns.  Anxious investors who greedily sought to increase their fortunes, bankers who were ready to gamble all they had on this quick rich scheme and families whose appetite was bigger than their stomach, brought this misfortune upon the world.  In the end, nothing was left.   All sides were liquidating their losses.  All that was gambled became liquidated damages.

And so now I walk in this once paper but now barren town, seeking myself and hoping to find if there is anything left of me.  Surrounding me are clues of what was left of this once happy and prosperous world.  But greed came and took all happiness away.  Even the government was not immune, for they fell too.  One by one, local and state governments could no longer withstand the mob.  The mob is now the law and the law is the new world order.

Once a happy society, now a fear dwelling world; we are at the will of others.  So now I sit, wondering if I could understand the pleasures of the other.  Though I do not know if I will see the rise of the sun tomorrow, for I’m at the will the other, I will now sit and sing.  I will play the songs of the pleasures of the past and of others.

  1. en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Special:Random – First random article is your band name.
  2. quotationspage.com/random – Last 4-5 words of the last quote on the page is the title of your album.
  3. flickr.com/explore/interesting/7days – Third picture is your album cover.
  4. Write your back story and inspiration.
6 thoughts on “Liquidated Damages – Pleasures of the Other

  1. This could be a future primary source supplement in a high school history class.

    I can see it now…

    >>Chapter 35: The Collapse of the American Empire

    Primary source selection: “Liquidated Damages – Pleasures of the Other”
    -John Pham was a computer technician working in Chicago at the beginning of America’s economic decline. His reflection on the dystopian present is characteristic of the hopelessness that pervaded the art and literature of the period.”<<

  2. Pingback: Top 10 Posts of 2009 « .:: phampants ::.

Leave a Reply

