First Day of Adulthood

I woke up today and realized today is my first day of adulthood.

But John, you’ve been out of college and in the real world for almost 3 years now.

That is true imaginary blog voice.  But today is different.

Because it’s Holy Thursday!

True…but that’s not it.

It’s not?

Would you please stop interrupting so I can finish?

But then this blog post would be depressing.  I’m here to cheer things up!

Hey look over there!  What’s that?

redball

RED BALL!  WHEE!!!!

And people say ADD was a bad thing.

Today is the first time since kindergarten that I do not have a spring break.  After 19 consecutive years of having spring break, I am no longer a carefree student child.  I am now an adult.

17 years of schooling and 2 years of teaching later, I never realized how special those school breaks were until today.  For the past 3 years, I traveled during spring break (Paris, Madison, St. Louis, Dallas, Boston and Washington D.C.).  This year, I will not be spending that time away, but instead I’ll be in a cubicle. Welcome to the first day of the rest of my life.

However, I cannot help but wonder, where I would be right now if I still had spring break.  Where would you go?

9 thoughts on “First Day of Adulthood

Leave a Reply

