My Brand, So to Say

The beginning of this year, I stated that I wanted to do something different.  I was bored with myself and was in desire of an adventure.  I started the visual blog project, became more involved with the YouTube and 20 something bloggers communities.  However, I realized that it wasn’t enough.  I wanted a challenge.  So when Mauren Johnson asked all the Nerdfighters to “blog every day in April” (BEDA), I decided to up the stakes.

This month, I attended more concerts (by myself) than I did in the past year.  I went to my first playoff game ever.  I went out and met up with friends during the week and said goodbye to my liver.  I decided to going to Europe by myself this June. And today, I will complete BEDA with this post.  Yes folks, I have successfully blogged each day this month.  But even after this accomplishment, I still feel that something is missing.

The other morning I watched this wonderful vlogger’s BEDA video:

She talks about branding and how we each brand ourselves.  Thinking about what she said, I realized that I have branded myself in numerous ways: teacher, student, friend, colleague; but the one thing I haven’t done yet is brand my Internet identity.   As a blogger, I’m still unknown.  As a YouTuber, I’m no one.  However, this month was an eye opener.  I realize that people do enjoy my writing and can overlook my horrific grammar.  And my YouTube prescene is getting noticed because one of the 100 most subscribed channels of all time subscribed to me. Though I am 21 subscribers short of my goal of 100 by May 1st

Even though I don’t feel any different, this month has been an eye opener.  I am doing something different.  I am challenging myself.  I still have a long way to go in branding my Internet prescence, but that will take time.  In the end, BEDA has been good to me.  I’m glad I did it.  Even though it’s over, it’s just the beginning for me, for Phampants.

7 thoughts on “My Brand, So to Say

  1. I really have never seen this horrific grammar you talk about. Where is it?? Congrats on finishing BEDA, and good luck as you continue!

Leave a Reply

