Desensitization

I was late going to a wake and there was no way I was going to sit in traffic for an hour on the Kennedy in Chicago.  I did the unthinkable, I got off the highway and headed south through the city.  Screw Google maps, I’m making my own route.

Now Chicago is not as dangerous or shady as people may make it sounds, but where I drove through is nothing like Lincoln Park, Wrigleyville or the Loop.  Let’s just say that what I drove through more or less resembled one of the neighborhoods my offsite office is located.  Granted not all the areas I driven through were shady, but the average person would feel uneasy.  As for me?  Nah, I had all my windows down, blaring my 90s rock music while dancing away in my car as I drove through these neighborhoods.  Sure, I did get a few weird looks but I also did get a nod from a car that was blasting rap music.  Word.

One thought on “Desensitization

Leave a Reply

