Being Real & One’s Love

The priest at MOzzie’s wedding this past weekend gave a great analogy about love.  He read an excerpt from the “Velveteen Rabbit”:

“What is REAL?” asked the Rabbit one day, when they were lying side by side near the nursery fender, before Nana came to tidy the room. “Does it mean having things that buzz inside you and a stick-out handle?”

“Real isn’t how you are made,” said the Skin Horse. “It’s a thing that happens to you. When a child loves you for a long, long time, not just to play with, but REALLY loves you, then you become Real.”

“Does it hurt?” asked the Rabbit.

“Sometimes,” said the Skin Horse, for he was always truthful. “When you are Real you don’t mind being hurt.”

“Does it happen all at once, like being wound up,” he asked, “or bit by bit?”

“It doesn’t happen all at once,” said the Skin Horse. “You become. It takes a long time. That’s why it doesn’t happen often to people who break easily, or have sharp edges, or who have to be carefully kept. Generally, by the time you are Real, most of your hair has been loved off, and your eyes drop out and you get loose in the joints and very shabby. But these things don’t matter at all, because once you are Real you can’t be ugly, except to people who don’t understand.”

“I suppose you are real?” said the Rabbit. And then he wished he had not said it, for he thought the Skin Horse might be sensitive. But the Skin Horse only smiled.


The Skin Horse Tells His Story

“The Boy’s Uncle made me Real,” he said. “That was a great many years ago; but once you are Real you can’t become unreal again. It lasts for always.”

That analogy was stuck in my head all weekend.  It wasn’t just about true love.  It was about what is real to each one of us.  It was finding our loves in life.

It’s my adventures in Europe…

6800_879359773820_1906079_50629994_5213937_n

My wonderful friends…

n1906079_36908868_3758

My cat…

n1906079_49437993_4542287

My year living in Fever House…

n1906079_31935810_1129

My attempts at being a teacher & succeeding…

n1906079_47931607_6211

My thirst to overcome my fears…

n1906079_31935809_7478

And there are so much more things in my life that are so real and so full of love.  What makes you real?  What are the things you love?

16 thoughts on “Being Real & One’s Love

  1. The Velveteen Rabbit used to make me cry, a lot. So I’ve avoided the story for years. After reading this, I think I might actually enjoy it. My cat is totally one of the things that makes me real!

  2. I don’t remember the Velveteen Rabbit. I know of the book, but can’t remember the story.

    As for realness? I’d go with chemical reactions, enzymes, involuntary muscles and nerve impulses. Too literal? Too nerdy?

  3. I used to love the Velveteen Reabbit.

    For me it’s certain songs, Raggedy Ann, memories of road trips, and standing on stage in front of a microphone singing.

    Awesome post. Truly.

  4. Things that are real to me? My family. My boyfriend. I’m real. What makes me real? Everything I’ve ever done. I cherish all the moments, even the not-so-good ones.

  5. Awesome post. Makes me realize that what makes me real is, perplexedly, my imagination and its inevitable materialization. Yep, it’s true.

    note: your cat looks stuck – halp! 😉

    • Actually, I just climbed that cliff. I took a victory picture and shortly after, I repelled down. I was one of 3 people that could do it on the first try. It only took me 15 min to climb over 100 feet.

  6. Pingback: Top 10 Posts of 2009 « .:: phampants ::.

Leave a Reply

