ET09: And So It Begins…

This is a new blog series about my European Tour 2009, where I will share my adventure with you as I experienced it. Each blog post will have at least one song accompanied with it.  If you haven’t downloaded the soundtrack for this blog series, please do so here. Song to be played while reading this blog post: The Rural Alberta Advantage – Frank, AB.

Day 1.

When I left work, I literally frolicked out on to the streets on my way to the EL.  Six weeks ago, I randomly decided to backpack Europe.  Today, my journey begins.

Since the end of my freshmen year of college, I knew that I wanted to backpack Europe.  I’ve been to Europe once before, but only on an organized trip.  After hearing stories of friends who backpacked, I decided to set a goal for myself that I would do it before I turned 25.  One and a half months before I become a quarter of a century old, I am making this dream into reality.

As I sit on the plane waiting for it to take off, it finally hit me that I’m backpacking Europe; and doing it alone.  I’m scared.  I’m nervous.  I’m excited. There is so much uncertainty, and yet so much potential for amazing things to happen.  I’m a laid back person who often goes with the flow.  But never have I taken on a journey without any direction whatsoever.  I have no plans.  All I know is that I will be in a certain country on certain dates.  There are a few things in each place that I would want to see; as for everything else, I’m going to wing it and make it an adventure.

An adventure.  Long have I sought for something great to happen to me.  Instead of letting the adventure come to me, like it always does, for once, I’m making the adventure happen.  I don’t know what to expect.  I have no direction or goals.  All I know is that I’m going to have fun and backpack Europe.  Sure, something is going to go wrong, but also a lot of things will go right too.

And so I sit alone on this plane waiting for it to take off.  Waiting for it to take me to Europe.  Waiting for my adventure to begin.  I don’t know what is going to happen or what to expect.  All I know is that it’s going to be quite the adventure.

.:: On to Day 2

12 thoughts on “ET09: And So It Begins…

  1. So envious. Though I’d also take a backpacking trip through something closer to home; like, California or something. Man, do I want a vacation.

  2. I can’t believe this on so many levels. I’ve always wanted to go overseas and explore, but doing it alone? I don’t think I’d be able to handle it. I always have a “partner” in crime.

    I’m excited that you did it, and can’t wait to read the deets about it!

    PS-Will you also have an NYC adventure series? 😛

  3. I want to know how much it actually cost you to backpack Europe, the total in the end.

    I’m not sure I’d have gotten over the scared and nervous parts enough to even be excited or enjoy myself.

    Also, I LOVE the soundtrack. I downloaded it over the weekend and it’s AWESOME!

    • The WHOLE trip:

      – Flights (10 flights & 2 ditched flights)
      – Trains (bullet train & day trip trains)
      – Buses (to/from airport)
      – Rental car (split b/w 2 ppl)
      – City transit (metro/bus passes)
      – Food
      – Booze
      – Hostels
      – Internet cafes
      – Activities (museums, exhibits, etc)
      – Souvenirs
      – Gifts
      – and whatever else I’m forgetting.

      for 18 days completely all inclusive…

      less than $2500.

  4. What a great beginning to reading about your journey. You are truly brave. I’m not sure it’s something I’d ever embark upon all alone.

    I can’t wait to read the rest!

    (And now my Reader is caught up, so you can post the next one, ha.)

Leave a Reply

