ET09: Brand New Day

This is a blog series about my European Tour 2009. Each blog post will have at least one song accompanied with it. Day 1 can be read here. If you haven’t downloaded the soundtrack for this blog series, please do so here.  Song to be played while reading this blog post:  Joshua Radin – Brand New Day.

Day 2.

Stepping out of the Dublin Airport, I couldn’t help but smile.  I’m in Ireland.

Long have I dreamt of backpacking Europe.  And here I am today, in Ireland, about to begin my adventure.  I have no idea what I’m doing nor do I know a single soul in this country…and almost every country on my trip.  But here I am, embarking on the adventure of a lifetime.

My greatest fear long before this trip began was not being able to meet people and making friends abroad.  That fear was short lived.  As I rode the bus into the city center, I befriended James of Oxford, England.  Though our conversation was short, I was happy to have made my first friend abroad.

Stepping off the bus into the city center of Dublin on O’Connell Street, I could not help but turn and admire my surroundings.  The sun was shining down on me on this brand new day.  My smile grew wider because today I knew I was going to be okay.

I never couch surfed before, so staying on a complete stranger’s couch was a completely new concept for me.  Though nervous, Sonic & Karolina subdued those feelings and welcomed me into their quaint home.  With them were Diego and Marina, two other couch surfers from Spain.  Between the 5 of us, 6 nationalities were represented: German, Polish, Spanish, French, Vietnamese and American; and yet, we were all 100% Irish.

I could not have picked a better way to see a city than wandering through it, on top of the amazing company of Karolina, Diego and Marina.  We saw Dublin.  We got lost in Dublin.  We saw the touristy sites.  We turned the wrong corner and got lost again, only to find ourselves in the Temple bar area.  Wandered more before we went to this amazing pub, the Porterhouse, and had delicious stouts (that wasn’t Guinness).  From there, we pub hopped a few more times before closing time.

My first day was suppose to be a relaxing jet lag recovery day.  Instead, it was the most amazing adventure I have had in a long time.  And the best part, the adventure was only beginning.  Thinking about it, this trip is going to be great and I’m going to be okay.

IMG_8396

.:: On to Day 3

12 thoughts on “ET09: Brand New Day

  1. Phampants,

    I think I may have seen you on somebody’s youtube video, but I’m not sure. Did you see Harry Potter 6 at midnight the day of it’s release?

  2. Pingback: ET09: It’s Okay « .:: phampants ::.

Leave a Reply

