Who Am I?

My name is John but my friends call me Pham.  I’m a 25 year old male from Chicago, IL and I am a nobody.

Who am I? I like everyone else.  And yet, I’m different.  My friends joke that “I’m special” and say, “Oh Pham” and smile.  In actually, I am different and special.  I am who I am.  I am myself.  I am Pham

I am Pham. I’m someone that many people know or know of.  It is not that I’m popular, famous or funny.  It just happened that way.  People know me before I even know them.  But when I do get a chance to know you, I am very sincere in the way that I do want to know you.  I want to know all of you as the person who you are.  I am genuine.

I am genuine. I do not bullshit or toy around.  What you see is what you get.  I’m honest and true when it comes to people knowing me.  There’s no hidden surface; there is just Pham.  And the genuineness goes both ways because I am genuine in wanting to meet and know you.  I’m not a person who wants connections.  I’m a person who want to create true friendships.  I am a best friend.

I am a best friend. I treat all my friends as a best friend.  You may not consider me as your best friend, but know that I will always treat you as my best friend.  Friendships come and go, but I want to show you that I cherish the time I spend with you.  I care about you and want you to know that if you ever need anything, I am here.  I will be the best friend you need the most when no one else is around.  I will be there.

I am a traveler. Since I am genuine with my friendships, I will travel to see you, hang out with you and catch up.  But I alsowant to see the world and all its wonders.  In the past ten years, I have traveled to 14 different countries.  I just visited my 30th state and hope to see the last 20 in the near future.  I backpacked Europe alone this summer to make sure I complete my goal of backpacking before I turn 25.  I don’t just dream about traveling, I actually travel and see the world.   I seek adventure.

I am an adventurer. I do not settle for the mundane.  I seek for thrills & adventure and the adventure seeks me.  Adventures does not have to be anything extra ordinary.  All it has to be is different.  Climbing a chapel spire at 1 am in the morning and then jumping into a pool with all your clothes on?  That’s an adventure.  Backpack Europe alone because you want to?  That’s an adventure.  Running around the city while doing a scavenger hunt?  An adventure.   I love adventures.  Even scheming a prank is an adventure in itself.

I am prankster. I love pulling pranks.  And as a prankster, I welcome pranks towards me; it’s only fair.  Though my pranks are kept at the utmost highest class possible.  There are 4 rules to which I follow to ensure that a prank is worthy enough to be executed.  Often times, I will plan my prank for weeks (and even months) in advance before I perform it.  Always remember that my pranks will bring laughter to all parties.  It’s all about having fun.

I am fun. Perhaps it’s my antics or even my randomness.  I’m all about having fun and enjoying life.  Life is short and it is to be enjoyed, loved and lived to the fullest.  I love life and it makes me happy.

I am happy. I smile each day knowing that there might be someone out there who is having a bad day.  I hope that my smile would make their day a little brighter.  Life is tough and is not always easy, but if you fight through the hard times, you won’t regret the joy that will come out in the end.  Just remember, it’s okay to be sad.

I am sad. Even with all my energy, sometimes I can’t help but be sad or emo.  Life is beautiful, but in life there are struggles and turmoil.  It is then when I feel alone.

I am alone. I’ve gone through so much in my life.  Not to discredit anyone else’s struggles, but for me, I have been through hell and back more times that I would have liked.  But it is during those dark days that I realized I am surrounded by amazing friends who love me.

I am loved.  No matter how alone I am, I know that there will always be a friend there to love me.  It may not always be the obvious one, but someone will be there to bring love and joy back to my life.  Thanks to them I will always remember how amazing life is and how much I love it.  And with that love, they’ll remind me of my passion for technology.

I am a techie. I am always plugged in.  I love the flow of information.  The technology world has always enticed me to learn and continue to learn.  I transformed a hobby into a career.  But no worries, I will always be faithful to my sociological roots.

I am a Sociologist. It may be my major in college, but I am as passionate about sociology as I am with technology.  Everywhere I go, I can’t help but observe and do ethnography.  Sociology is in my bones.  Culture, subcultures and the communities that it forms fascinates me.  It’s almost as fascinating how my friends laugh at the fact that I’m so white even though I’m Asian.

I am a Twinkie. I’m yellow on the outside, white on the inside.  I may be Asian but I consider myself as Caucasian.  Most of my friends are white.  I can count all my Asian friends in my hands (and they’re Twinkies too).  “Azn Pride?”  Ha!  I do not pretend to know my culture or try to assimilate the two cultures.  No.  I am a American.  I talk like a white person.  I dress like a white person.  I see myself as white and more.

I am a somebody. I am Pham.  But in retrospect to the greater things in this world, I am a nobody.

I am a nobody. But that’s okay.  As long as I inspire others to achieve something great in their own lives, then I know that I have done something great.  Because that is who I am.

Who am I?

I’m a nobody, but I just hope to inspire somebody.

Inspired by the CuriousIllusion.

13 thoughts on “Who Am I?

  1. It always makes me a little sad when people deny or are openly against their cultural heritage. It’s a part of who you are, something you can’t change.

    As you said, you are who you are. And you’re Pham.

  2. Lol I was reading this going “the title of this blog post sounds really familiar”.

    Well I like who you are! Although I definitely do not think you are a nobody! 🙂

  3. You know who else was a nobody? Odysseus. And look what he did.

    And as far as inspiring others go, you did recently help to lift the musician’s writer’s block recently.

    Rock on, Phampants. Rock the eff on.

  4. Aww what a great post. I like this alot. And you are an awesome friend because you totally drove me home after Chris’ dinner and didn’t even mind. what a sweetie.

Leave a Reply

