A Celebration of Love

I’m at the age where the majority of my friends are either getting married or have since married and having babies.  As another friend ties the knot (or receives the ball & chain for guys…I kid), I am becoming one of the few remaining single college buddies left. But the odd part is that I’m completely okay with it.

This past weekend, I attended my first wedding of 2010.  Correction, I partook of wedding celebration.  It was the union of a dear friend from college and the man who truly spoke to her heart.  It was quite unique watching their relationship blossom into love.  I knew KJ since she was a freshman and I met Joe just over a year ago.  But when I first saw them together, there was something special there.  Though it was early on in their relationship, it was the beginning of something beautiful.

Attending this celebration of love, I couldn’t help but feel love for them on their wedding day.  Though their marriage is only a few minutes/hours old,  my joy for them is beyond full tangible expression.  I was truly and lovingly happy for them.

I find it that the weddings over the past two years have struck more deeply and close to me than when I was younger.  Don’t get me wrong, I did cherish the early weddings I attended of my friends.  But as I grew older and grew in deeper friendship with my friends, each wedding that I have attended lately have been more meaningful.  Most particularly because we have grown and matured within each other that now we can fully express our joy and love for each other.

So when I was leaning against the head table, watching the beautiful couple dancing with everyone, I couldn’t help but smile.  I was so happy for KJ & Joe.  I’m truly happy for them.

As for me, I’m very happy where I am right now.  As another friend finds true love, I realized that though I’m one of the few left that is still single, I’m in no rush.  I’m happy, loving life and very jubilant; just like the party before me-a celebration of love.

7 thoughts on “A Celebration of Love

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention A Celebration of Love « .:: phampants ::. -- Topsy.com

  2. Awww, what a lovely post. I’ve only ever been to two weddings, but they were years apart, and the second one, I similarly felt a more “grown up” appreciation for the couple, an admiration and a genuine wish of happiness for them for the rest of their lives. I can’t view the vid on this computer but I’m sure it’s just lovely 🙂 Congrats to your friends!

  3. As a fellow single-dude, I love weddings not because they are adorable events centered around true love, not because of gathering close friends and family, not because of the drinks (surprisingly), not even because of bridesmaids.

    It’s the hors d’oeuvres. They eff’n rock.

  4. Beautifully written! I’ve only been to one of my friends weddings so far, but I see what you mean and I hope they get even more meaningful as I attend more.

Leave a Reply

