The Beautiful Unknown

Photo credit:  phampants

The first time I saw the London Eye, I was beyond giddy.  Perhaps it was because I was finally in London or knowing that while riding the Eye, I would have breath taking view of the city.  But alas, I was giddy for another reason.  Nerd love.  When I saw the London Eye, I thought about Doctor Who.  That’s right folks, seeing the London Eye reminds me of Christoper Eccleston as the Doctor and Rose Tyler (Billie Piper) walking out of the Tardis for the first time.  Oh how I would love to be the Doctor’s companion.

Anyways, I digress.  As much as I love London and enjoy seeing the London Eye, Chicago is my true home.  However, there is a piece of London in Chicago.  Who needs the London Eye when you have the Navy Pier Ferris Wheel?  Chicago, meet London.

Though technically the Navy Pier Ferris Wheel was in Chicago long before the London Eye was built.  Damn those Brits trying to claim everything as theirs!

I was sitting in the Crystal Gardens of Navy Pier the other night with Cuileann, looking up to the night sky with the bright, twinkling Ferris Wheel before me.  The sight reminded me when I was in London.  I was already halfway through my backpacking journey and about to start my last leg of a magnificent trip.  There was so much unknown before me, but I was excited and ready.  Looking back, the whole trip was a complete unknown.  I went from a scared being to someone who embraced the future and everything that came with it; the good and the bad.

This night, looking up at the Ferris Wheel, I realized that I am once again faced with a great unknown.  2009 started tragically but ended up to be the best year of my life.  One year later, I’m at the same place again.  Except this time, I’m not afraid of the unknown.  I’m very excited for what is next.

So many possibilities and adventures that are coming up in the near future.  So many unknowns and variables that could change everything, good and bad.  Will I become a Fiesta Agent with Karen?  Where shall I backpack this summer?  Will I ever meet a girl in a coffee shop?  How many times can I dance in the rain this year?   Who will I lose in my life this year?

So many unknowns, but I’m so excited for it.  The unknown is beautiful.

Whatever the next step will be, good or bad, I’m ready.  I’m excited.  I’m smiling and ready for it.

I’m ready for the beautiful unknown.

Photo Credit:  Martiger

4 thoughts on “The Beautiful Unknown

  1. Though you are in the same place, I can only assume that this year did not start tragically. I think it is great that you appreciate the great unknown. Too many young people can’t do that and life gets heavier. That’s not fair.

  2. The unknown is pretty scary, but I kind of like that. It’s weird, but I like having to deal with things at the last moment or under pressure. I love the rush and feeling you get after you’ve accomplished something under those terms.

    Can we go backpacking through Europe together this summer?? We can be two twinkies navigating their way through mountains! 🙂

  3. You dream about meeting a girl in a coffee shop? I totally want to meet a guy in a coffee shop. 🙂

    I’m glad you’re excited, that’s such a positive way to look at things. I need to be more positive.

Leave a Reply

