Growing Up

  • “Dammit” – Blink182
  • “Measure 3” – Matt Pond PA
  • “Island in the Sun” – Weezer
  • “Overboard” – Ingrid Michaelson
  • “Bikes” – Driftless Pony Club
  • “Pony (It’s OK)” – Erin McCarley
  • “Oxygen” – Living Things

I’m indifferent.

I’m not sad nor am I happy, just indifferent.  Maybe it’s the time of year or perhaps I’m at the point of being exhausted of keeping people morale up; whatever it is, I’m at the point where I’m just indifferent.  I still care.  I will always care because that’s who I am.  But right now, I’m just indifferent about everything.

The quarter life crisis knocked me off my feet, gave me the adventure of my lifetime and made happier than I could ever recall.  But there are days when I just really don’t care and push along.  Maybe it’s just part of growing up.  Except that it is part of growing up, feeling all these emotions and the roller coaster of a life that we experience.

We have good days and days that just royally suck.  One may be more plentiful than the other; however, it doesn’t mean anything.  For there are days in which we just live.  Those days we can’t control but just have to live through.  Another day, another mark on the calendar.  It’s those days that we must fight and fight hard.  Fight the mediocre days and make it better.  Do not hope for it to get better or worse, fight to make it better and not worse.  Fight against the mundane and repetition lest we settle.  And it’s the last thing any of us want is to settle in life.

The summer is fast approaching and we’re all at crossroads.  College students getting ready to graduate, but in reality they don’t know what’s next: no job, no prospects and no idea what the future will behold for them.  Twenty-somethings years past their last education hitting their quarter-life crisis, wondering if this that they’re meant to do, called to be and most importantly, how they want to live.  Then there are the newly weds facing the fact that they are now married and old.  And yet, they are overshadowed by other twenty somethings only a couple years off having children and starting a new chapter.  We are all no more than 8 years from each other, but we’re all the same: the Generation of the Twenties.

The gap between the youngest and the oldest is negligible.  However, where we are in life, in the gap, is vast.  Someone at the age of 23 is married and expecting, while someone at 29 is starting over, going back to school and getting ready for a better future.  From the extremes, we cannot forgot those who are in the middle.  It’s the middle that are wondering what’s going on before they go overboard.

There are those who choose to run away.  Some take it literally and travel far away, while others run away figuratively and physically go out for a run.  Yet, it’s easier said than done because we all have restrictions and anchors holding us back.  Whether is physical, financial or emotional barrier, not everyone can run away.  Instead, they stay put and continue to fight on.  They’re fighting the good fight and often have a head start, because those who do run away, will always have to come home and fight themselves.  At the end of the day, we’re all fighting for something better.  Sooner or later, we realized that we’re not the only one fighting because there are many others around us doing the same.  It is that moment, we’re going to realize that it’s okay because we’re not fighting alone.

Once the realization that we’re not alone, it is up to us to ask for help.  Yes, there are things that we have to do alone and must do it by ourselves.  However, not every fight, struggle or barrier can be overcome alone.  That is when we need to reach out.  Whether it’s by a phone call, a text, an email, a tweet or a knock on the door; just some form of communication.  It doesn’t matter how many or little friends you have; it only matters if you make the first step.

We’re in this together.  We’re not alone.  We’re all growing up, chugging along and fighting our way to something better and greater.  And yet, in this chaos that is the twenty-something crisis, we often forget the most simplest thing:

Breathe.

13 thoughts on “Growing Up

  1. So holding my breath during this entire post wasn’t the best idea is what you’re trying to say?

    No, but you’re read my soul. What little piece of a soul I have left. And knowing someone feels the same way makes me feel less indifferent. It makes me feel hopeful than I’m not in the daily fight alone.

    Thank you for that. And for letting me know I should keep breathing. Because I’m a slow reader. And that sure was a long time to hold my breath.

  2. It’s weird to know that I’ve been 5 years out of college and [even scarier] 9 years out of high school. As a kid, I couldn’t wait to grow up and be independent, but now that I’m all grown up, I just want to be a kid again.

    Funny how that works…

  3. I understand and share your feeling of indifference. I’m glad I’m not the only one around here who feels that way sometimes. The feeling of the quarter-life crisis is starting to creep up on me more that I’d like to admit…

    And I thought the teen years were stressful.

  4. As you get a little older, you’ll realize that you don’t need to fight for any emotion. If you do, you get contrary results. You may have to fight for your job or a parking spot, but to fight for a better day just doesn’t work. The days that appear to be bad ones really aren’t. Pollyanna had the right idea.

  5. We all experience this to some extent, yet entirely different at the same time. This was a great post. Really makes you think, that’s for sure.

    And an excellent playlist as well.

  6. What a fabulous post. “The quarter life crisis knocked me off my feet, gave me the adventure of my lifetime and made happier than I could ever recall” – this sounds like pretty familiar territory 🙂 I loved the part about fighting harder through the mediocrity. Words to live by 🙂

  7. Really great post, I like this. It’s crazy to think that, as you said, there’s only a small gap amongst the youngest and the oldest of those of us in our 20s and lives can be completely different.

    I love so many of those songs that you mentioned. The rest… I will have to look for.

  8. I hear ya, dude. I don’t know what it is that causes the burnout, but I do know it happens. And what to do in this case, besides remembering to breathe? Well, like you said, there’s safety in numbers.

    Here, I remind you of the motto from Left4Dead:

    “Stick together to survive!”

    Nothing is truer of the 20’s.

Leave a Reply

