Running a PR

A lot of bloggers I know are taking part in “In It to Gym It.”  Though I’m not part of the group or participating in it, I thought I’d share my story.

In January 2007, I signed up for my first half marathon, then called Spirit of St. Louis Half Marathon.  To date, it was still my best half marathon time: 1:56:52.  Since then, I have ran 5 more half marathons and have yet to break it.  The last time I came close was 2 years ago in Columbus.  I was under two hours, but it wasn’t good enough. Even after running the flat course of Chicago 3 times, I could never come under 2 hours.

I want to PR badly. So I vowed to myself to PR in the half marathon distance this year.  I ran hilly St. Louis again, training no more than 8 miles at my longest distance, and fell short again.  I finished at 2:06:34.  Though I did not PR, it was a small victory for me.  After training very little in flat Chicago, I was able to pound out my best time in a hilly course that I haven’t seen since the start of my running career 3 years ago.

I have another half marathon before I run the Chicago Marathon for the second time this October.  My goal once again is to PR.  Starting Monday, it will be 12 weeks before the Rock ‘n’ Roll Chicago Half Marathon.  I am determined more than ever to PR.

Ensuring that I am serious about this, I’m taking all the necessary steps to make this happen.  Since the beginning of April, I have lost 10 pounds.  I started at 160 and this morning, I weighed in at 150.  I weigh less now than I was when I ran the Chicago Marathon last October.  I hope to get down to at least 145 before the halfway mark of training for the August half marathon.  Besides losing weight, I’ve cut down my portion size and have eaten healthy alternatives to what I would normally eat.  I have also recruited an amazing running coach, Vegan Anti-Hero.  She’s good, she’s fast and she’s fantastic!  Coaching from 5 states away, she’s is whipping me into shape like no other.  Basically, she knows how to get me to run faster and weep about my fat ass at the same time.

Monday, I ran 4 miles; it was nothing spectacular.  Yesterday, I ran 6 miles and it was the best run I have had in a long time.  Credit goes to the coach, because I was able to pound 6 miles in about 50 minutes.  That was my best run since September 2009.  Today was a wash, but maybe tomorrow I will try to pound out another half dozen before work.

One day at a time but I am determined to PR.  I will PR.  I will beat 1 hour, 56 minutes and 52 seconds.  I have 12 weeks to do this.  I will do this.

9 thoughts on “Running a PR

  1. Good for you! I’ve never run a half marathon (or any race, for that matter) since I have been an actual “adult.” I need to get on that… sounds like it could be fun.

    And you WILL make a new PR!

  2. Pingback: 8:07 « .:: phampants

Leave a Reply

