The Adventure Started A Year Ago

Last year on this day, I embarked on something unthinkable and inconceivable to myself and to my friends.  I left the comfort and safety of home to backpack Europe alone.  It was 3pm when I left work with a tiny duffel bag weighing no more than 22 pounds.  I bounced out of work onto the EL, nervous and beyond terrified, as I headed to the airport.  I was alone.  I knew nobody.  All I had was myself and thirst for adventure.

One year ago, I would have not known how much of an adventure I would have.  Better is that one year ago, it was the turning point of my life where I stopped dreaming and waiting for things to happen.  It was one year ago when I began to make my dreams come true.

One year later, I look back at how much I have grown since I left work that sunny afternoon.  I won’t say that my quarterlife crisis is anywhere near over, but instead of being confused by it, I am embracing it.  I’m loving every moment of the quarterlife crisis.

And once 3pm strikes this afternoon, I will be sitting in my cubicle at work as if it was another day.  But deep down inside, I would be packing my bags, leave work and heading back to Europe on another adventure.

7 thoughts on “The Adventure Started A Year Ago

  1. “….the turning point of my life where I stopped dreaming and waiting for things to happen. It was one year ago when I began to make my dreams come true.”

    Those moments are life-changing and so incredibly empowering, and an attitude of embracing challenges rather than running from them can make all the difference in the world. All I can say is way to go, and cheers to an inspirational soul 🙂

  2. I love stories like this. I think it’s good to just pack a bag and set off on a inward journey. If the goal of “getting away” is to find out more about who you are, it is so rewarding. I’ve found that once you made this internal journeys while staying still, the journeys to new places make even more of an impact on the soul.
    Here’s to many more trips inward and outward! 😀

Leave a Reply

