Fat Depressed Runnerd

That is my 2011 Chicago Marathon confirmation ticket that I received in the mail today.  That is also a very sad & depressed face as I am reminded once again that I can’t run it.

Running was never my life.  But not running has made life bland. It’s interesting that just a simple hobby that I thoroughly enjoyed, could effect me this much.

It was only 2007 when I started to run.  True, my first race was 2006, but that was to redeem my cool teacher status.  It took me 3 years before I called myself a running and here I am four years later, unable to run.

I still have a Chronicles of a Half Marathon from this past spring that I have yet to edit.  The lack of running has waned my enthusiasm to edit the video lest I want to be constantly reminded of my injury.

The truth is that I can run.  It’s just not pretty.  I could run 2 or 3 miles, a simple warm-up in my eyes.  Perhaps I can toss in a 5 if I’m lucky.  But I can’t bring myself to do it.  I don’t want to half ass my run nor do I want the pain to get worse. I just have to sit and wait for nature to do its course.

A collapsing arch isn’t fun.  It’s slow, painful and depressing.  Walking is bad enough, but sleeping is worse.  This constant dull reminder to my dreaming brain that my foot hurts.

I want to run.  I want to run so badly.  If I wasn’t so hard headed, I would be out there running right now.  But I keep on reminding myself no.  No.  Wait until next year where you can start again.  Start a new season, get back into shape and let those minutes drop in your triumphant return.  A return that will probably take two years.

Two years.  I look at the calendar now and realized that I’m almost a year into when this pain started.  When my flat foot decides to be flatter.

Now, I just look at my confirmation ticket and wonder, what if.  Granted the “what if” has an asterisk of being 15 pounds heavier and barely being able to walk up a flight of stairs.

If there is any consolation, I know that my bib is going to good legs & feet: @henjealy.  She’ll run her heart out & make me proud.  She’ll make all the #runnerds proud.

I may be done, but my bib isn’t.

5 thoughts on “Fat Depressed Runnerd

  1. Oh dear, I am so terribly sorry to hear this. I never realized how serious your injury was. At least your bib gets to go to someone who will make good use of it! And I am glad you are listening to your body, it sucks but future you will thank you.

  2. you can do some excercise without running, just to keep you a minimum in shape and make sure that when you’ll start to run again next year you’ll be able to do it!! don’t get upset…. hope everything will be ok soon!

Leave a Reply

