You’ve Won My Heart Australia

I have less than 24 hours left in Australia.

There is so much to write & tell, but in these last few moments, I will just cherish our companionship until we have to say goodbye.

Three years ago, you welcomed me for the first time. I spent a week in Sydney, some time in Brisbane and miraculously not drown in Cairns. Eighteen days I spent with you and you took me into your arms showing me your greatness. On the eve of my first departure, I sat along Darling Harbour with MOzzie as we ate our last Australian burger with beets. I looked upon the Sydney skyline and wondered when I would return next. Never had I had a place won me over so quickly. My birthday was the next day and I wished to stay longer. You tried but I returned home only aching for my return.

Three years later, I returned to you. I came to relive memories, friends and whatever you would throw at me this time. Once again, you greeted me with open arms and held me close. You let me reminisce of my first trip, then flattened me with your magnificence of Melbourne. This second city scooped me up and made me feel at home. Home in a foreign country and city, rare feat in my eyes and you have successfully done it.

Perhaps it’s the friends that I’ve made here or the way you present yourself to the world. Melbourne, you fit me and allowed me to be my own person here. Now, I’m sad that I must say goodbye to a city that is not yet mine but is already in my heart. Goodbye to an amazing country that has welcomed me twice and made me fall in love all over again.

I told myself that this visit will be the last time I’ll be here for quite awhile. I was wrong. Eight days is not enough to live in you but more than enough to fall in love again.  Australia, I will be back soon. Very soon.

Until then, let’s enjoy our last hours together until we meet again.

One thought on “You’ve Won My Heart Australia

  1. About 20 years ago a young cousin of mine was sent down under for a job. He never left. He lives in Perth. He met a wandering soul from Ireland and she stayed. So I guess I understand, to some extent, the appeal.

Leave a Reply

