Hello World Reboot?

I eventually ventured out into the slush in the balmy January weather after delaying my start for over 6 hours.  It’s not like I didn’t want to do it.  It was more of the combination of fear, anxiety and laziness.

I chose to start not from my doorstep today but along side an old friend who I haven’t seen for many months.  Part of the reason was to avoid the slush of the melting first snowfall.  The other was to start where I fell in love for the first time.  It may not be the most efficient choice, but since I was starting all over, there was no other place I would choose.

Driving down Lake Shore Drive, anxiety took over.  “Would I remember how to do this?” I asked myself. More importantly, would I be able to do this after being sidelined for the past year.  My heart rose from a steady thump to a fast beating pace as I pulled into the parking spot.  Camera in hand, I stepped out of the car and walked towards the starting point.

I put my right foot on the trail, then my left.  It was as if I never left this old friend.  My nerves took over as I turned on the camera and said hello once again.  Not knowing if this will be a thing or not, but I thought I try it out.  You never know.

And then, I put one foot in front of the other and let myself go.

My body felt stiff.  My feet swollen.  My arms awkwardly dangling.  But my legs, oh my stiff and tight legs, they didn’t forget.  They just moved as if I never stopped running.  The effects of my injury still lingers in my foot.  My first run in over 6 months was by no means pain free.  But I’m running at least. I’m running again.

2 miles.  I told myself 2 and I stopped at two.  I knew I could have done before because of my stubbornness and determination, but I stopped at two.  I was slow.  Granted, a 9:22 pace for 2 miles is quite excellent after taking so much time off.  But I felt slow.  On the bright side, I did pass someone, so that is a start.

Today, was my first day back.  It wasn’t pain free.  My foot still aches and my body is stiff, but all that matters is I’m back.  Though I do not know if the reboot is happening or not, but I’m glad to be back.

Hello World, reboot?

3 thoughts on “Hello World Reboot?

Leave a Reply

