Blog Posts in My Head Doesn’t Count

Lately, I’ve been writing numerous blog posts in my head with every intention of typing it up and then publishing it.  However, like all my recent drafted posts (some of which are gems, if I may say), I failed to transfer the draft from my mind to the Internet.

Silly John, blog posts in your head doesn’t count.

Drafts that do make it out of my head are still just drafts as they sit on WordPress.  Even fewer, perhaps this one, will see the light of day when I hit publish.

I love blogging, making YouTube videos and hanging out on Twitter.  It stirs my creative juices and allows me to explore the vast synapses of my mind. Sadly, I haven’t been doing any of those things as of late.  I don’t know what’s wrong, but I do know I miss it.  I miss it greatly.

Time management has been horrendous and my greatest issue. Every time I have an idea for a video or blog post, it’s never the appropriate time to act on it.  When the time permits, I either lose motivation or am too tired.  It’s not my fault. I haven’t slept well for months, always tired each morning, afternoon and all the times in between.  My motivation to follow through on ideas is another issue.  It just wanes and brings me into further disappointment.

One glimmer of light in my poor time management is that I have been making sure I put in time to run.  After a year of not running, it’s nice to be back on the trail again and putting miles under my feet.  Though my miles are few and my pace considerably slower than it was 18 months ago, it’s a start.  Running is one comfort that I have in my dismal attempt to sustain my creativity.

I told myself this year to “live it up.”  I have.  But it’s hard not to notice something unique about me is missing.  Perhaps it will come back and there will be less blog posts in my head or video ideas stuck in my eyes. Until then, I’ll keep on reminding myself to make something of my thoughts.

Note: This post took 5 1/2 hours for me to write & publish. That’s how hard it is right now.

5 thoughts on “Blog Posts in My Head Doesn’t Count

  1. oh man, the number of blog posts i have in my head is out of control. it’s just when i sit down to put them in to words i become so overwhelmed. i’m glad to hear you’re running again!

  2. I felt SO into blogging two weeks ago. And I didn’t publish a single post in the intervening time. I’m always coming up with ideas to blog about, and then just not doing it. It isn’t a time issue, since I’m a lazy unemployed wife and have nothing to do all day long but stare at my computer – I just don’t. I really want to, but I don’t. I don’t remember how, sometimes. Or I feel like the things I’m thinking aren’t worth putting down.

    Man, I hope I can get out of this slump, and soon.

  3. Pingback: Blog Posts in My Head Brain Dump – Vol 1* « .:: phampants

Leave a Reply

