WANTED: Dead or Alive – Fr. Victor Mosele, RIP

It’s not every day that you personally know someone who is wanted “dead or alive.”  Fr. Victor Mosele was one of those people; with more emphasis on dead.  The bounty on his head in Sierra Leone was so extreme, that even I can’t imagine the kind of rebel that he truly was.  To think, a little Italian Catholic priest wanted dead or alive in a small African country because he was doing missionary work that disrupted the RUF’s plans.

I didn’t know him well, but I met him in college at the University of Illinois. I helped him publish his book.  He was having issues with his laptop to the extent that he lost the near final version of his book.  He called me and I assisted him in the restore.  A year later, his book was published and he gave me a signed copy.  Though I’m not mentioned in the acknowledgements, he knows and so do I.

He’s a simple man whose heart belonged to Sierra Leone, but was told to live out the rest of his days in the States, lest his premature death.  And so he did until yesterday when he passed away from Lou Gehrig Disease in Milwaukee.

Fr. Victor Mosele didn’t do anything great or notable; he was just not afraid.

Requiescat in pace.

One thought on “WANTED: Dead or Alive – Fr. Victor Mosele, RIP

Leave a Reply

