Bladder Control

I remember as a kid hearing the sound of my parents going to the bathroom in the middle of the night.  I was confused by that action because I never the understood the point of waking up in the middle of the night only to fall back asleep.  I mean, why couldn’t you just hold it?

Yeah, if you were a child or infant, I’ll give you that excuse. Your body isn’t fully developed and your bladder is a lot smaller. But in high school, college and crashing at friends places; all of them have to wake up in the middle of the night to pee.  Call me weird, but I was just baffled.

Since a child, I was able to hold my pee until the middle of the night and pee in the morning. No unnecessary wake ups to walk to the bathroom, turn on the bright light to awaken yourself, walk back and hope that you fall back asleep.  I just slept and pee in the morning.

(Sidebar: also learned the hard way as a teenager that peeing with morning wood isn’t pleasant.)

When I started to drink, I understood that situation where you had to pee.  You broke the seal.  You put so much liquid in your body in a couple of hours. Get that pee out stat lest you wet the bed.  That, I get it.

As an adult with ahem, sleepovers, I never understood why  my significant other would get up in the middle of the night to pee.  “Can’t you hold it?” I would say.  Which may have been followed with a pillow to the face.  They were all jealous of my amazing bladder control.

But within the last year, I noticed that this hasn’t been the case anymore.  My alarm goes off at 7:30, but my bladder can only wait until 7.  As of a few weeks ago, it moved to 6:45.

WHAT IS HAPPENING TO ME?!

What’s the point of going back to sleep for another 45 minutes?  Can’t I just hold it like I use to?

Ugh, EFF growing old.

Leave a Reply

